Which is the Real Poisson D’Avril?


If you’d like the backstory on the April Fool’s video making its way around Sun (below)… it goes like this.


My normally trustworthy administrator let me know I had a lunch appointment with my normally trustworthy friend, Ted. So I went to a normally trustworthy restaurant, where the normally trustworthy host walked me to my table – and past a series of video cameras I foolishly didn’t notice. Ted lets me know he’s managed to connect with Dan, a normally trustworthy colleague, who’s put him in touch with a technical expert I might be interested in meeting.


Ted lets me know the guest is flying up from Los Angeles. And that he’s been in an accident that might impair his ability to speak. Pay special attention at minute five, marking the first time I’ve seen anyone make a chicken out of a dinner napkin.


Let me be the first to point out that the video shown was highly edited. The good (and, notwithstanding this prank, normally trustworthy) people who edited the footage exercised appropriate restraint for a global audience unaccustomed to diluvian drooling. How uncomfortable was it at the table? Having watched the unedited version with a Sun colleague before it was posted externally, she remarked, “Look how well your Mother raised you, you didn’t even stare.”




On a far more civil note, Sun’s headquarters were also attacked by a herd of squeaky dolphins yesterday, swimming in formation from right to left… rumor has it they were on their way to meet with a representative of their community who now leads our database business.


Oh, and Bill Macgowan is still at Sun.


I hold him personally responsible for my designation as the real poisson d’avril (dolphins aren’t fish, after all, they’re mammals), and I’ll forever view him with a lingering suspicion… but he’s still here.

19 Comments

Filed under General

19 responses to “Which is the Real Poisson D’Avril?

  1. Young Tech Guy (25-29)

    Sun should be a prime sponsor of the UFC <www.ufc.com>.
    I’d love to see the Sun logo at the center of the octagon.
    Then Sun won’t be "My Dad’s tech. shop"

  2. Filesystem Man

    Hilarious. Now lets get back to GPL’ing ZFS.

  3. Jonathan I always enjoy your blogs and it is really good to see you take a joke so well.
    I am an IT Analyst who writes about accessibility (computing for people with disabilities) and I saw a serious side to the jest.
    What you experienced is the problem a small number of people have to cope with on a daily basis, how to communicate when they are unable to speak intelligibly for whatever reason. We have all seen and heard Stephen Hawking and have been amazed by his ability to continue to communicate.
    There are a variety of reasons that people cannot speak intelligibly or at all including: surgical removal of the vocal chords, strokes, accidents to mouth (as in your video), or some forms of deafness. Many of these people will have perfectly normal dexterity so it would seem that technology could help.
    Would you like to put Sun’s expertise towards developing a small device that could turn hand movements and getures into the spoken word?

  4. WOnderful stuff–hook, line, and sinker!
    (And the CDDL is just fine for ZFS, Filesystem Man.)

  5. roger

    Sir, when will the other $2 bln buyback start?

  6. Curlyman

    @Filesystem Man
    How would GPL’ing ZFS be good for SUN’s bottom line? Maybe your company could send me one of your products for free.
    While we’re making ridiculous demands, maybe we should ask SUN to make an entry level Infiniband storage appliance like the StorageTek 2530, but with an Infiniband port or two on the back. Yes, I know that you can pop an Infiniband card into a "Thumper" system (Sun Fire X4500), but that is hardly an entry level storage system. Yes, I know that you can bridge Fibre Channel to Infiniband, but doesn’t that defeat the purpose?
    If a startup company wants to start small with one unified switched fabric for all network/storage traffic and scale as they grow, they seem to be SOL.
    Have I missed something?

  7. Dhapash Roy

    I’m a bit surprise, whether Jonathan himself ever visit his own Blog site, though the sun site claims that the blog is interactive!! Probably there is someone who writes for Jonathan, gets the approval and posts it at blogs.sun.com/jonathan. After that we the readers are fighting on unnecessary bargaining. Is there anyone who ever saw Jonathan replied to any of users comment?
    –Dhapash

  8. Hilarious.Jonathan I always enjoy your blogs and it is really good to see you take a joke so well.

  9. /pd

    thanks for sharing !! Initally thought that you were pulling our feet for APril/1 :)-

  10. Anonymous

    Peter, you seem like a nice guy who is sensitive to the feelings of those around him. That’s a great thing. But in this case, I just have to disagree with you. There are times when good folks transfer their own issues/agendas onto truly unrelated issues/topics/incidents. I think that’s the case here. … This was a prank involving a guy who’d had dental surgery, had a device in his mouth and was therefore drooling and unintelligible. It was not poking fun at anyone, nor did I feel it was making light of people who have suffered permanent disabilities. … I mean, if you can’t laugh at a situation in which someone is left alone with a complete stranger who acts loopy on meds, makes chickens out of napkins as you talk business, drools a small river due to a dental device in his mouth and then has the audacity to order lamb chops, which he subsequently rubs against his lips, maybe it’s time to reevaluate things.
    Peace

  11. OfficeSpace

    Yeah, Bill, what’s happening…right, we’re gonna need you to go ahead and move your desk down to storage area B just as soon as you can. And oh yeah, almost forgot, we’re having an infestation problem down there so go ahead and pick up a can of raid or something like that. Yeah, that’d be great…

  12. Bill_W

    Dhapash,Jonathan has enough to do without having to answer all questions asked of him,He’s getting Java ready for the big push up,or else my dear wife of 50 pulse years is packing up and out the door!! 8>)

  13. Hillarious. And, dolphins are amazing.🙂

  14. After 2 decades@Sun

    Very cute. But I remember Bill Joy’s Ferrari in the pond and the
    VW Bug in Eric’s office – I wonder if he took that door to Google.
    I participated in the "dog-leg" golf course in Scott/Bernie’s
    offices (MTV-6). That was some great stuff. I left Sun nearly 2
    years ago but I can’t help but ask, with all the upbeat announcements
    and comments, why is it that the stock still trades at under $4
    ($3.82 close today – forget the 1 for 4 split). No joke, this stock
    should have been at $10 (ok, split, $40) by now.
    – I suppose, the only concerned stockholder out there.

  15. Kevin Hutchinson

    Here’s a foolish idea for you in April. You now have amazing new servers that can run 128 hardware threads. Awesome! You also have competition from Amazon’s Web Services who sell small/medium/large instantiations of Linux images by the hour. Here’s my radical (foolish?) thought – why not sell Solaris containers with scalable hardware threads, priced by the thead-hour?
    For example, my container mostly just needs 2 or 3 threads, but then gets busy so I run it up to 10 or 20 threads for a while, then back down to 2 or 3. And I pay you 4c per h/w thread per hour (96c per h/w thread per day).
    I can see technical challenges, but in theory a scalable hosted solution like this would reduce the need to run so many separate O/S instances (c.f. Amazon). If my container wanted 100 threads and there were only 40 spare on the machine, it would need to migrate to server with 100 spare hardware threads. Not sure if you can do this (yet)?
    This could dovetail with Project Caroline (www.projectcaroline.net) or offer a new approach that’s closer to Amazon’s. Anyway, I thought I’d run it past you.

  16. Peter, you seem like a nice guy who is sensitive to the feelings of those around him. That’s a great thing. But in this case, I just have to disagree with you. There are times when good folks transfer their own issues/agendas onto truly unrelated issues/topics/incidents. I think that’s the case here. … This was a prank involving a guy who’d had dental surgery, had a device in his mouth and was therefore drooling and unintelligible. It was not poking fun at anyone, nor did I feel it was making light of people who have suffered permanent disabilities. … I mean, if you can’t laugh at a situation in which someone is left alone with a complete stranger who acts loopy on meds, makes chickens out of napkins as you talk business, drools a small river due to a dental device in his mouth and then has the audacity to order lamb chops, which he subsequently rubs against his lips, maybe it’s time to reevaluate things.

  17. *begin squeaky voice* Well, you can’t have your cake and eat it, too. *end squeaky voice*

Leave a Reply

